The Challenge

If you’ve read my 2016 goals, then you’ll know that one of my goals is to read as many novels, short stories or non-school/work related books as possible this year. I’ve realised the last time i read a book for pleasure/ leisure was probably 4 years ago. Personally i think its shameful that I own two beautifully polished mahogany bookshelves stacked with dust rather than books. 

It’s quite easy to use the excuse of “with so much school work and deadlines to meet who has time to read novels?”. But if i must be honest, that’s just a load of b.s because if i calculate the amount of time i spend scrolling idly on social media, especially on insta, looking and looking at nothing in particular, i can very well use that time to read something interesting and i’ll also be doing something about my literary blind spot.

So i’ve decided to challenge myself to reading at least a book a month this year, and if possible, then 2 books from as many countries as possible. I would love to pack my bags n hop on a flight to every corner of the world, meet new people, experience their cultures, food, and learn a couple of sentences in their local languages (the bad words no doubt 😂) but the reality is I’m just another student on a tight budget. So I reckon the cheapest alternative is books! I can still get some of that experience by reading books from every continent😁 For probably a hundredth of the price. The journey of a life time starts with turning a page they say. The more you read, the more you’ll know, the moreolaces you’ll go … for free! I checked out the books section on amazon and realised that this task comes with a not-so-cheap price tag but i ordered a couple of books with really good reviews which i already had in my must-read list anyway. These books are:

  1. half of a yellow sun – Chimananda Ngozi Adichie
  2. purple hibiscus -Chimananda Ngozi Adichie
  3. we should all be feminists – Chimananda Ngozi Adichie
  4. the memory of love – Aminatta Forna
  5. ghana must go – Taiye Selasi

So I’ll be starting with these 5 in whichever order they’re delivered. All the Authors are West African females who were raised either in USA or UK with the exception of Chimananda Ngozi Adichie who was born and raised in Nigeria before moving to America for university. Yep I decided to start with Africa. There’s no better place to start than home after all.

Basically everything came up to about £25 (it didn’t exactly break the bank) but i’ve decided to search the book section in my local charity shops too, because bargain hunting never hurt nobody :D.

I would love your suggestions on any good reads that i can add to the list as i go along, and it would be so much more fun if this can be as interactive as possible. I am excited.com!!!

watch out for my next post and my thoughts on these books. 

xoxo

wahjay

 

Leave a Reply

